RSS

A Haunting We Will Go

02 Feb

Me in the dining room of the Rebel Yell Haunted House when it was part of Pirates of Emerson

Hello My Ghoulies,

Halloween has been my favorite holiday since… well since I first started having memories. I’ve always loved it. I liked dressing up, I liked spooky things, I liked running around the neighborhood past my bed time. I just love the holiday. Even before I understood where it actually came from and what it actually meant. After I found that stuff out I loved it even more. But that’s another story for another time.

Today I want to talk about Haunted Houses. No, not actual haunted houses where the spirits of the restless dead watch you while you sleep. I mean the amusement type. I have always loved going through them. Not because they scared me but because well… I’m kind of a morbid person. I like the look of them, the smell, watching people get scared by simplistic effects. I just love it.

Back when I was still in high school my friend Jilly and I finally decided we were going to make a haunted house in our yards. Sadly, Jilly was killed in a car accident the year we had planned to do it. I went on to put one on in my grandmother’s front yard.

It was simple. Cardboard walls, painted with spray paint. Friends in whatever costumes they happened to come in. Really simple lighting. But the neighborhood kids ate it up. So we did it again… and again… and again… and again… and… again. The costumes got more elaborate. The lighting a bit better. The scares planned out. Decor thought about. We upgraded from spray paint to normal paint but kept the cardboard walls.

My brother’s best friend DJ, who also lived in the neighborhood, started doing his own. His was based more on special effects and detailed scenes. Less on actors and plot.

After six years I decided to call it quits on mine and Local Mayhem (which is what we called ourselves) disbanded. Mostly due to the fact that a lot of the cast were going on to University and moving away from the area. So for a long time I didn’t do haunt stuff.

In 2007 a professional haunt called The Pirates of Emerson invited Californian home haunts (haunts operating out of residential homes usually for no profit) to join them at the Haunting Fields in Fremont. Rebel Yell (the haunt DJ started) was invited and jumped at the opportunity to go semi-professional. DJ called me to help them with makeup and costuming. Though come opening day they needed me to join the cast.

I had a blast. I had forgotten how much I loved scaring the wits out of people and hearing them say “That was lame… let’s do it again!” So I was hooked and luckily DJ and the rest of the Rebel Yellers liked having me around so I got asked back. Sadly 2008 did not have a haunt for us but 2009 did.

But… 2010 did not.

2011? Sure did!

I’m proud to say that I have been part of and contributed to such a wonderfully fun and delightfully morbid event. I have a lot of fun building, decorating, designing and acting in the haunt. It’s a lot of fun entertaining the locals and hanging out with other demented people who enjoy making people scream in fear and delight. As this blog progresses I’ll tell you more about it in detail but for now that’s all I have to say. Just a little something to wet your appetite.

Bats and skulls,

Adana

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2012 in Haunted Shinanagins

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “A Haunting We Will Go

  1. cherry pie

    March 2, 2012 at 6:01 am

    seychelles
    Thanks for this fantastic post. I actually like the content material you put up on your web page. Added to my bookmarks for future visits. telephone

     
    • creeashawn

      April 6, 2012 at 9:54 pm

      Thank you very much. I’m glad you enjoy it. I try to put up what is important to me but also what I think others might enjoy or get something out of.

       

Leave a Reply

 
