RSS

Things I Don’t Get #1

06 Feb

This is my skeptical face.

Things I Don’t Get #1:

You ever see someone (usually a teenager) wearing a t-shirt for a band or a show or some random movie that you like and compliment them on it? Then try to ask them their opinion only to find out that they have never listened to, watched or otherwise in any way actually know what it is they are wearing on their chest?

Dose it irk you? It certainly dose me.

I get that theirs a fashion trend and maybe I was a strange child/teen but when the “wear logos on your shirt because it’s in” craze hit I sort of wanted to know what the logo on my shirt was for if I was going to wear it. No adays it seems that blind consumerism is at an all time high. I mean, when I say “Gaba gaba Hey!” To someone wearing a Ramons t-shirt I expect them to at least know why I’m doing so. Do they not feel stupid when they don’t? (psst, the answer is apparently “no” instead they just think you’re weird and old and creepy. Which is very sad.)

I personally find the fact that teens (and adults, let’s face it we do stupid things too) buy things that they don’t even have an emotional response to. It’s one thing to wear a Gwar t-shirt because you like Gwar. Hell, I can even accept “I really liked the picture” if that’s what caught your eye but to have someone say, “Well band shirts are in right now” is just… wow. Just… it hurts my brain.

I would blame Hot Topic but it’s not really their fault. I mean, they’re just the dealers. The dealers of shame and tragedy and nonsense (look at me being hypocritical while I bitch about Hot Topic on the computer while wearing skully socks I bought there)

But seriously I don’t really get why teens fall for the “because it’s in” thing. I remember trying to do so when  I was about 13 but I failed because I just wasn’t comfortable in the damn clothing. I mean, I look pretty bad in pastel’s no matter what Teen Beat says.

Of course, our teen’s role models are… um… well… Twilight movies… and Justin Beaber… and Lady Gaga (though I like her because she’s weird and unashamed of it I still don’t think teens should wear meat dresses. It’s just dangerous to do.) You know who my role modles were? Uh… Edger Allen Poe and H.P. Lovecraft… and Pin Head from Hellraiser and… you know what? I’m not a great example since all my role modles were either dead guys or creepy Brits with lavish make up on their faces. Still, I think that today’s role models for kids are kind of lame. I mean, Justin Beaber? Ew.

Well, til someone finally holds a “This is what your T-shirt is from” class I guess I’ll just have to deal with people blindly wearing things they have no clue about in the name of fashion. Well, either until then or until I take over the world and abolish such fashion trends into the Nether Pit of No Return, that is.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 6, 2012 in Random Stuff

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
